Guest Reviews

At El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, we’re committed to providing each and every guest with an extraordinary level of service that is accommodating and professional while warm, welcoming, and genuine.

Please read our reviews below to learn what past guests have to say about their experience at our hotel in San Antonio, Texas. Then start making plans to add your name to the El Trop Legend!

bo
10  Exceptional
  • Leisure trip  Family  Standard Room with Two Double Beds  Stayed 2 nights
  • Submitted from a mobile device

I didn't like that we didn't stay longer

The room was really clean and the breakfast buffet was great

ex
 
 4 out of 5  Recommended for Everyone
by A verified traveler
 
Very comfortable and conveniently located
Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, great for walking along the river. Staff very nice. Good buffet breakfast. Great view of the river from the room.
Location: Easy to walk to restaurants. Right on the riverwalk, very calm and peaceful.
VERY PLEASANT Very nice to sit outside in any of the patios. Lobby bar very pleasant.
tas
Reviewed 2 days agoNEW

Stayed here for four night nights, wife and my 3 year old grandson. We pick this hotel on the because it was along the Riverwalk and they had a special of a free room if you stay two days. The room was nice for a older hotel and it faced the Riverwalk. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The staff were very nice and helpful The only problem I had was the parking. The parking pass would not work and I would have to go back to the lobby to get another pass. Parking was 17 dollars each day Parking is high at all hotels. The city bus (blue route) runs by the hotel and can take you downtown for about $1.40 I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with family
sd
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I stayed here three nights and I loved it. Great rooms that are 99% soundproof. The buffet is pretty good and they have a nice bar and coffee bar. The patio is just like being in a rainforest. We will definitely stay here on our next visiting.

Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
pol
4.0 / 5Excellent
"The Samples"
Overall it was an excellent stay. The front desk was extremely helpful and courteous. The view from the outside patio was beautiful and romantic.
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
jkl
Reviewed 5 days agoNEW

very nice clean hotel, staff was wonderful...the prices were awesome and we were right across from the Riverwalk...we had to check out at 3:30 am and the staff made sure we had a cab and coffee...will definitely go back...

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with friends
jkl
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Purchased through TripAdvisor but still had a choice of what room and where. Parking is $10 across the street, $22 valet, or $16 self parking. If your gonna self park just park across the street. Room was nice, bathrooms were clean. The AC was on despite the fact we had a choice which tells me they usually keep it on to keep room fresh. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was actually on. You can't turn it off or on, its something they control which constantly purges the air to keep the building from getting "sick". Outside area is nice with music. The environment was so lively that we never even turned the TV on, just opened the balcony doors and relaxed. No shuttle, just a $6 cab ride away from the Alamo plaza. We will be back.

Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
jk
“Great place to stay”
  • Leisure trip Couple King Room
  • Stayed 2 nights
  • Submitted from a mobile device

It was a little far from the main part of Riverwalk but we loved the walk

Loved the hotel, very cool place to stay

kjh
5.0 / 5Outstanding
"A Tropical paradise!!!"
I and my family simply loved the tropical beauty of the lobby, plus our room was decent and comfortable. Absolutely wonderful! I would most definitely stay again!
Genuine Hotels.com guest review
kju
Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed here May 1st through May 5th , hotel is beautiful. the staff is remarkable , across the street from famed river boat stop , the rooms are dated but comfortable . the only drawback are the bathrooms , as my wife would say " too small, no counter space , by all means stay there , they server breakfast only its $9.95 there is a bar in lobby , one at the pool, and a snck bar also

Room Tip: near the pool
  • Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple